Grid Expectations

I've moved! Go to GridExpectations.com

New at LAQ: Imani 2 skin!

I remember when the Imani skin first came out at LAQ; I thought the skin was beautiful and ended up wearing it for several days and enjoying the different makeups.  I’d felt the skin was perfect as it was, so when I logged in today to a notice about an Imani 2 skin, I was surprised.

Anyway, I shrugged off my momentary surprise, went ahead and rezzed the box, unpacked it’s contents to my inventory, and then put on the first skin.

And it was love all over again.

The Imani 2 skin remains faithful to Imani’s face overall, but various updates have been made that refine her appearance.  Probably the very first thing you’ll notice are the lips.  The lips are, for the most part, same as the original, but there’s some subtle enhancement to the shine on the lower lip.  There’s also some shading along the upper lip that’s new, and there’s a noticeable difference at the “cupid’s bow” section.  While I still love the full, pouty look of the lips on the first Imani skin, I’m really happy to see the definition on these new lips.

The next thing I noticed were the eyebrows.  Imani 2 has essentially the same eyebrows, except they’re a bit more fleshed out and more full.  I adjusted my hair base (the system hair worn to create a bald pate) slightly; the first Imani skin has slightly thinner brows and I felt that the level of pointiness and arch of my personal brow shape could be taken down slightly for the new Imani 2 brows.

Imani 2 also sports a very subtle beauty mark in the area of the left cheekbone, something that is not present on the first Imani skin.

Finally, I also noticed right away that the “glow” or “shine” on this skin has been distributed slightly differently.  It’s really amazing to see skin designers work their magic on the avatar mesh with the subtleties of shading and highlighting.  I feel as if the face of the Imani 2 skin has an overall slightly softer, more feminine feel to it because of the new glow/shine that Mallory has used on it.

imani 2

I’m not sure which is my favorite skintone for Imani 2; I keep wavering between Ebony (the darkest) and Cocoa (the second darkest).  Imani 2 is also available in Nougat and Peach for those who want a lighter version.  There are ten makeups available for each skintone, and for each makeup there is an optional hairbase (for use with some of the hairstyles at LAQ; using a hairbase skin with one of the hairbase styles results in a nice looking, realistic hairline).

By the way, the pendant I’m wearing in this image is from Caroline’s Jewelry.  When I’m not wearing my beloved hibiscus pendant that my partner Carson gave me, I find I tend to put these lovelies on.  Caroline’s offers these sweet sculpted script font initial pendants so that your neckline can be adorned with your and your sweetie’s letters.  ❤

caroline's jewelry:  m & c pendant

caroline's jewelry: m <3 c pendant

You can choose between a heart symbol or an & symbol.  To get the initials of your choice, just pick up the order form from the vendor at Caroline’s Jewelry and follow the simple instructions.  I think this would make a really cute Valentine’s gift, which happens to be right around the corner!

(Other credit:  Tess hair, by LAQ.)

January 31, 2010 - Posted by | Fashion, Skin | , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. […] Day 30 of 365, caroline’s jewelry: M&C pendant. I cheated and used one of my blog pics for my 365 pic, too. I didn’t have time to take any other pics that day! This image is from my post about skins and necklaces. […]

    Pingback by 026 to 030 of 365 « Grid Expectations | February 3, 2010


Leave a Reply

