Grid Expectations

I've moved! Go to GridExpectations.com

Ingenue: Marguerite, Jane, Judy, and Rosie

I have to admit, when I hear or read the brand name Ingenue, I pretty much immediately think of the typical retro stuff you’ll see in fashion mags and google searches:  sweet, pillowy skirts made of generous helpings of tulle; bobby socks, oxfords, and poodle skirts; Esther Williams style pinup swimsuits that were daring decades ago but are now modest by today’s standards.

What I generally don’t think of are items such as jeans and overalls, which is precisely what Betty Doyle released a little while ago.  And I love them!

Click the images to see larger versions.

LOTD marguerite and jane

I wore Ingenue‘s Marguerite sweater top and Jane jeans for this look.  The Marguerite top has excellent knit texturing with an argyle detail on the chest area, and what I really love is the sculpted blousing prim that goes right above the waist.

The high-waisted Jane jeans are organized in several layers for mixing and matching, allowing you to wear your shirts tucked or untucked. One of the things I immediately noticed about the jeans were the leg sculpts; they’re the perfect skinny jeans! ❤  The sculpts are modifiable, too, so even if you have a bit more thickness/muscle tone in your leg area you’ll be able to edit these to fit.  I also wore one of my bigger shapes just to check if the prims could be modded to fit and I forgot to take a picture of the result for this blog, but I think the jeans sculpts looked just fine with a few tweaks.  ^_^

LOTD ingenue judy & rosie

My friend Gogo told me I was channeling my inner Minnie Mouse when I paired Ingenue’s red Judy blouse with the Rosie overalls, lol.  The overalls are very 40s and look great; they come with sculpted rolled-up cuffs that are modifiable.  I’m probably going to wear these again with some of my favorite old standby tank tops from Celestial Studios and a cute, short hairstyle. 😀  The Judy top comes complete with puffy sleeves and a cute round collar attachment.

hibiscus 01

I’m also wearing something that is very, very special with my Ingenue outfits:  It’s a necklace that my partner, Carson, had custom made just for me!!  ❤ I really love the thought that he put into it; it features my birthstone at the center, and of course the hibiscus represents my beloved home, Hawaii.  This is actually part of a set that includes an anklet and shorter necklace, and all of it was designed by the ever-so-lovely Caroline Apollo of Caroline’s Jewelry.  (She currently does not do custom designs, but you should check out what she does have available 🙂 )

Thank you, Carson, for being one of my best friends in SL, for making my SL more fun, for watching old musicals with me, and for being Don Lockwood to my Kathy Selden.  😉

Other credits…
Skin – LAQ – Trisha; LAQ – Molly
Hair – 69 – Omnia 10; fri.day – Eloise; fri.day – Neva.2
Shoes – In Her Shoes – Bows Bows Distressed Red flats
Poses are all from my store (Mela’s), except for the last one; I think that’s from Reel Expression. ^_^

December 16, 2009 - Posted by | Fashion | , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. […] I’m wearing in this image is from Caroline’s Jewelry.  When I’m not wearing my beloved hibiscus pendant that my partner Carson gave me, I find I tend to put these lovelies on.  Caroline’s offers these sweet sculpted script font […]

    Pingback by New at LAQ: Imani 2 skin! « Grid Expectations | January 31, 2010


Leave a Reply

