Grid Expectations

I've moved! Go to GridExpectations.com

The White Faun

I am still in fantasy dress-up mode. ^^

white faun at green muslin

This faun (or satyr if you’re an ancient Greek :p ) outfit is from a collection called Titania’s Court by Riann Maltese, which you can find right at the entrance to Fairy’s Grove Creations.

I’ve been wanting one of these faun outfits ever since I first spotted the vendor for it back in October, but as always I was gripped by indecision as I contemplated the six colors that are available. I ultimately chose the white one because I think it makes for a nice contrast with my darker human skintone. 🙂 The faun avs come in six colors, ranging from black to white, with autumnal-looking reds, browns, and yellows in between.

white faun

This truly is a beautifully made ensemble. For starters, the texturing work on every single piece in this set is fantastic, from the horns to the hooves.

I was also really pleased with how the legs look. The primary leg prim is a sculpty while the tufts of fur that appear around the hooves and at the leg joints are mostly torii. The texture covering the lower torso and thighs is on the underpants layer and comes in two versions, one of which does not cover the crotch (for all you kinky fauns out there, I guess).

For your head, you get a pair of sculpted horns and sculpted ears, and a prim tail for your tush. The ears and the tail are scripted to twitch and move, much like how you’d see a neko ear attachment move.

02/25/2008 Important addendum!!:  There are two versions of each color at the vendor, one for males and one for females.  Whenever you click on a color button, a preview of the av will show in the display, so that’s one way you can tell whether you are viewing the male or female version.  You can toggle between the genders by using the male/female symbols on the left side of the vendor.

More on what I’m wearing following the jump…

Faun Avatar – Titania’s Court at Fairy’s Grove Creations; Hair – RaC Hair, Loveaffair (this was originally intended only as a Valentine’s freebie but since so many people have asked for it after the promotion was done, it’s now back on the shelf at the normal price for RaC hair); Skin – RaC, Trisha; Eyes – Nomine, Orbital 4

In the second image, the hair worn in the upper left corner is Coreen in white by ETD. I normally prefer to wear the longer RaC hair with this outfit since the flexi-prims (sort of) cover the boobs, but I wanted to show the ears in more detail. ^_^

February 20, 2008 - Posted by | Fashion | , , , , , , , , , ,

12 Comments »

  1. thanx mel, u answered here what i asked on flickr… let’s shop!

    Comment by Valle Giulia | February 20, 2008

  2. Magic!This is Panas himself,the goatfeet god.He used to hang around with satyrs dancing and playing his flute all day long.A funny but also a bit scary figure from our childhood.:D

    Comment by Chrisy Jewell | February 20, 2008

  3. Cool that you blogged this fantastic faun outfit Melanie! I also bought it last week and stood before the vendor like half an hour to decide which color I should get. Eventually I decided on the black one which is pretty much my ”safe color” ;P

    Comment by Cleo Carbetta | February 20, 2008

  4. I love this outfit. My friend Zore made wonderful tops to go with these… thought you might like ^^

    http://secondsurvivor.com/SecondSurv/showthread.php?t=767

    Comment by Alexa Lioncourt | February 20, 2008

  5. That is just way cool! Thanks for blogging that!!
    ~QQ~

    Comment by Queenie | February 21, 2008

  6. Hi Mel. I just bought a faun avatar too from that store based on your article, but I was very upset to to see that the vendor gave me a folder clearly marked “Male” and it came with a male shape, but without offering me any options for a female verson, nor were there any controls on the vendor itself (only the buttons to select a colour).

    I had assumed I would either be asked if I wanted male or female after I had pressed “pay”, or that it would be unisex. But no – no options and here is your “male” avatar!

    Did you also receive a “male” folder?

    I sent a notecard to Riann Maltese (which she accepted) but she has not given me the courtesy of any reply.

    Faerie Hax

    Comment by Faerie | February 25, 2008

  7. Oh noes!!! Maybe Riann has not been online lately? I know I’ve received notecards in the past that I totally did not see until like, waaaaay later, which is why I now have a mailbox set up outside my own little shop in Juicy, you might want to try catching her in IM when she’s online.

    I got the female version of the faun avatar, on the right side of the display is a male and female symbol (kind of like what you see outside of public bathrooms).

    😦 I would be pretty upset, too… that outfit costs 600L and since I will only spend what I make in-world, a 600L purchase is not something I take lightly! I’m really not sure what Riann could do, though… I’d have to look in my inventory but I’m pretty certain these items are no transfer. ;_;

    Comment by melaniekiddofsl | February 25, 2008

  8. Hi Mel, Re-reading your comment that you normally wear the RAC hair because it sort of covers your boobs, I found some great hair to wear with the faun avatar.

    Sirena hair (by Natalia Zelmanov) has two styles that have an “extension” piece that attaches to your chest to cover the boobage and always stays in place no matter how your head turns.

    In case anyone is interested the link is here:

    http://www.mermaiddiaries.com/2007/07/sirena-hair-womens-long.html

    and this is me in the Arianna showing how to be nekkid and PG at the same time 🙂

    Path of Life

    Comment by Faerie | February 27, 2008

  9. OMG what a fantastic tip, thank you!!!

    Comment by melaniekiddofsl | February 27, 2008

  10. I also bought the faun outfit, in the warm brown color. I truly love taking time out from my usual life as a Mistress, and becoming a creature of nature. Fauna was the Roman Goddess of the Earth, and that’s how I feel.

    Comment by Trina Varriale | January 15, 2009

  11. Kind of an old post, but was wondering if you knew if the legs were Copy/Mod/Trans? I am looking for just the legs as I have my own ears, horns and skin. Wouls like to get these, but would like to play with the color to match my skin more.

    Comment by Kasumi | October 9, 2009

  12. Hi Kasumi! They are Copy/Mod/No Transfer.

    Comment by melaniekiddofsl | October 10, 2009


Leave a Reply

