Grid Expectations

I've moved! Go to GridExpectations.com

Some updates regarding iheartsl.com

Some updates regarding iheartsl.com

Hey everyone, the response to the new feed sites we’ve set up at iheartsl has been overwhelmingly positive!  😀  Seems like we weren’t the only ones ready for a change.  There’ve been a few questions and suggestions, so I’d like to acknowledge some of those.

First of all, I’d like to make it clear that iheartsl is not “my” site or “my” feed or what have you.  Although I’d love to take credit for something like that, it was Gogo who first started kicking around the idea of a new feed back in November.  In fact, my initial dismissive reaction was, “Yeah that’s nice… ooh btw check my new ❤ Cupcakes dress?”  Fast forward to several months later, however, and the lot of us were kind of getting tired of seeing blogs being excluded from the Fashion Planet feed and we all warmed up to Gogo’s idea.

This brings me to another issue that has been raised; a few people have asked whether the fashion.iheartsl.com feed will be moderated.

When the team behind iheartsl first began discussing the creation of a new feed in earnest, there was one thing that we were all definitely in agreement with:  the feed was going to be a comprehensive one.  Including the voices of designers and fashion bloggers that ought to have been heard in Fashion Planet months ago was our foremost motivation, after all.

I think the name of the site says it all, too.  We really do ❤ SL, especially SL fashion.  We love dolling up our avis, hitting various sales and hunts, squealing with delight over the latest gorgeous new sculpty boots, pretty much anything to do with enhancing our avatars’ appearances.  We also love being fully informed as to what is out there, something that’s becoming increasingly difficult as SL expands.

So yes, we want to involve all of the fashion community, in all it’s glorious and riotous variety!  😀  If you’re a designer or a fashion blogger, then we want to see and hear what you have to offer, and we want to provide you with a forum where you can be heard by the entire community.  We’re all about loving SL in it’s entirety — we’re iheartsl, not bloglines.  🙂

With that said, while we won’t be your fashion police, we definitely intend to keep things running in an orderly manner.  What does this mean?  It simply means that we want to keep the fashion feed all about… well, fashion!  If it comes to the attention of iheartsl staff that there’s been some non-fashion posts appearing, we’ll simply approach the blogger and ask that they filter their posts.

Speaking of keeping things orderly, we want the site to *look* orderly, too.  Please bear with us as we continue to listen to your feedback and tweak the appearance of the site accordingly.  Right now we’re playing with a template that has cornea-friendly colors (thanks Meara for the suggestion! 😀 ) and a left sidebar that won’t get tangled up with any large images that may appear.  The new template still sports the Search function, and we’re also very happy to finally get the Previous Posts link up and running at the bottom of the page!

We will always be open to your feedback, so please, if you have any other suggestions, let us know — this is YOUR feed, after all.  ^_^  We’ve also got what we think are some killer new ideas that we’re still hashing out before we can fully implement them, so keep an eye open for future developments.

January 27, 2008 - Posted by | Blogging, Fashion | , , ,

13 Comments »

  1. Hi Melanie!I have to congratulate Gogo as well for the great idea!And you for another time,for specifying what this is all about.The idea of including bloggers that are not included on the Fashion Planet,seems to me a very “democratic” approach!For example,i have this friend who has just started a fresh looking fashion blog and she’s not on the Fashion Planet yet.So,this makes things easier for her to be on a fashion feed.
    I still have some difficulties though with understanding the “filtering” of my posts.Should i make a test “non fashion” post not categorised as fashion on my blog,and see if this goes to “grid” and not to “fashion” i-heart?
    I’d appreciate any advice on this,in order not to spam feeds…
    *Maybe it’s some words i don’t get on filtering,english is not my native language,sorry :))

    Comment by Chrisy Jewell | January 27, 2008

  2. Fantastic. I have a friend who has been trying to get on the feed for, it seems like forever, so I will send her right over.

    Comment by Cherlindrea Lamont | January 27, 2008

  3. A big thank you for being simply efficient.
    Morgan K

    Comment by Morgan Kincess | January 27, 2008

  4. It’s really great you have got a feed for the non-fashion blogs now too, there are so many out there that need to be seen. Fantastic job Gogo and Mel!

    Comment by Creamy Cooljoke | January 27, 2008

  5. /me hugs Melanie and Gogo!

    Comment by Ana Lutetia | January 27, 2008

  6. I was like, halfway through the fashion feed on iheartsl when I noticed the new colors (love them! neutral colors = happy corneas!) and the improved formatting (yay!) The site has such a nice, clean feel to it – it’s really looking great. I appreciate Gogo for the original idea, as well as you and the rest of the team for bringing her idea to fruition. I really don’t know either of you (aside from meeting you at your shop and buying half your store) but I think you are two of the best and brightest in SL. *hugs* and thank you! 🙂

    Comment by Meara D. | January 27, 2008

  7. I really like the new color scheme on the feed, but it looks like a new format is being experimented with – snippets of posts instead of full posts. I am not a big fan of this, I like to skim feeds and pictures help draw my attention. I know it’s a pain when pictures or formatting break the feed, but setting an absolute width instead of a relative one could help this, it worked pretty well on Fashion Planet!

    Comment by Candy Flanagan | January 27, 2008

  8. Thank you, and Gogo, and whoever else was behind the scenes for this, because yeah, it was needed. I’ve a friend who had been in the queue for forever and nothing. Speaking of, she’s also having a spot of trouble with some posts not showing up- I’m sort of feed dumb, but is there a way I can find out what the url of her feed is, so I can see if it’s filtering or somesuch that she didn’t mean to?

    Comment by Allegory Malaprop | January 28, 2008

  9. (Scratch that, it sorted itself out)

    Comment by Allegory Malaprop | January 28, 2008

  10. I love the feed! I just don’t know how to get my posts into it. I am ****very***** new at this.

    It would be ten kinds of awesome if you (or anyone reading this) would tell me what I’m not doing.
    Thank you ^_^

    Comment by Sybella Sodwind | January 28, 2008

  11. Hola. I must say this is a great idea. As a shop-a-holic its great to see a greater sampling of designers. So thanks for all you and Gogo’s hard work. I do however have a question, the other feed had a few builders ie: furniture and pre-fab houses, and while they are not fashion per-say for me that is still a big part of SL because I am also a builder and I like to see what else is out there. Plus furnishing my house is just as important to me as dressing my avie. Will there be a feed for this set up in the future or is the feed grid.iheartsl.com for that. When reading the description for it seemed to be more for general SL news, info, opinions, etc. I’m just curious as I know that aspect of SL isn’t as important to some people.

    Comment by Shinesse Madison | January 29, 2008

  12. […] already had someone question the motives behind iheartsl.  As I’ve already stated in my two previous posts, iheartsl was born out of the simple fact that requests for blogs to be added to the […]

    Pingback by Yet another update regarding iheartsl ^_^ « Grid Expectations | January 30, 2008

  13. […] already had someone question the motives behind iheartsl.  As I’ve already stated in my two previous posts, iheartsl was born out of the simple fact that requests for blogs to be added to the […]

    Pingback by Fashion Feed of SL » Yet another update regarding iheartsl ^_^ | January 30, 2008


Leave a Reply

