Grid Expectations

I've moved! Go to GridExpectations.com

J’s shitkicker boots

Okay, so these aren’t really called shitkicker boots by the designer; it just sounds cool to me and it’s a phrase that I know my friend Vivi would use. :p

Here are some zoomed-in shots of the boots. (Btw, I’m using the angel3 and angel10 poses from the Juicy Angel pose set that Gogo recently released, as well as the naughty2 pose from the Juicy Naughty set. They were perfect for showcasing these boots up close and personal, and at 1L for each set you really have no excuse for not having them in your inventory!)

Clicking on the following images will take you to their respective flickr pages where you can view larger sizes; credits and SLURLs are at the end of this post.

Js Work Boots

Js Work Boots 02

Before I say anything else about the shoes at J’s, there are two caveats that you should be aware of first: (1) there are no demos available, and (2) these shoes run a bit small, even in their “larger” sizes.

These sculpty shoes are the Work Boots from J’s, located in the Tsukishima sim. Creator JB Gazov has done a great job with the sculpty shape of these boots and has taken care with the textures on these, from the upper parts to the brown leather on the flexi laces and the realistic brass of the grommets through which the laces weave. The two different colors of the rear pull-on loops are an interesting feature — the left shoe’s loop is red while the right shoe’s loop is brown. Finishing it off are thick, detailed outsoles that look like they’re ready to provide your avi with some serious traction.

I chose the flashier red color, of course, since red is my favorite color. 🙂 If that’s not your thing, however, then perhaps you’ll be interested in the more traditional black and brown versions.

The poster in the store says these boots are unisex but from what I saw, there’s no way these boots would fit most of the male avatars that I personally know; as I stated above the shoes at J’s run pretty small. (Machete bought the western boots, and despite the fact that different sized prims are included in the folder, he had to bring down his leg muscle and body thickness sliders in order to be able to fit into the largest versions.)

When I saw the red boots, I immediately thought of my Priestly Vestments coat from Amerie’s Naughty that’s been sitting in my inventory for several months. I love the coat but I’ve never really pulled it out of my digital closet and worn it for a reasonable amount of time… until now. ^_^ It’s a lot of red, for sure, but I felt the boots worked with the almost cartoonish attitude and drama of the coat. Since I want to keep the focus of this post on shoes, I won’t go into detail about the coat, but you can still read the excellent write-up Morrigan Repine did earlier this month at Style Hotline.

Js Work Boots 03

Although these boots have a chunky and somewhat masculine look to them, you can definitely work a feminine angle with these by choosing the right items. In the example above, I chose to offset the bulkier shape of the boots by emphasizing a sleek leg line, visually elongating it with black tights and a body-hugging mini-skirt. Topping it off is a cute and decidedly feminine half coat.

J’s features more than just work boots, of course. There are several other sculpty boots that are worth mentioning; while I would have loved to have bought all of them I exercised self-restraint and chose to buy the backribbon boots. 😀

Js Ribbon Boots

Js Ribbon Boots 02

Ladies, before I go any further, I feel I must warn you again right now: these boots were definitely made with a slender girl in mind. I think it has to do with the fact that most Japanese female avatars (at least the ones I’ve seen around) are all on the tinier side. After experimenting with a variety of body shapes, I’ve concluded that if you’ve got a body thickness upwards of 20 or if you’ve got the leg muscle slider set beyond 55, your avi WILL break through the largest non-modifiable sculpty prims.

I really like the height of the heels and the slim look of these boots, which is aided by the solid black coloring. A couple of elements accentuate the color block: zipper details that are part of the texture (not prims) run all the way down the insides of each boot, and on the back of the legs are brass grommets and black leather laces tied in a bow.

As soon as I saw the boots on my avi, I decided I wanted an outfit that would emphasize the leg shape even further. I chose a longish all-black sweater and a black mini-skirt. These two items, like the boots, are completely black in coloring but what really makes them visually interesting are the great cowl neck shape and the wrinkly-looking texture of the skirt. Finishing it off and providing a little bit of contrast is a colorful reddish hairstyle. ^_^

Overall, I’m happy with my purchases, especially the red Work Boots. I’m impressed with the quality of JB’s sculpties and will definitely be keeping an eye out for his future products. While I’m thankful that my new boots fit my avi without too much hassle, however, my only complaint is that I wish there were demos and and that there was more consideration for larger sized avatars. If your avi has a build similar to mines, then you should have no problem fitting these as well, but if your avi is somewhat larger then unfortunately I’d have to advise against spending on these, especially since they are not transferrable.

What I’m wearing:

1st & 2nd images: Boots – J’s, Work Boots red; Hair – Kin, Ash white; Skin – RaC, Trisha smoky; Eyes – Nomine, Orbital 4
Prim Lashes – RaC, black flirty; Manicure – RaC, Manicure No 04; Coat – Amerie’s Naughty, Priestly Vestments; Pants – PixelDolls, Black Pants freebie

3rd image: Boots – J’s, Work Boots red; Hair – ETD, Amber black; Skin – RaC, Trisha smoky; Eyes – Simtropia, brown deep; Glasses – NeaBan, Retro S; Manicure – RaC, Manicure No 04; Coat – Kurotsubaki, Red half coat; Skirt – Last Call, torn mini jean skirt from the Yelena set; Tights – Blaze, charcoal tights from the 13-color bundle

4th & 5th images: Boots – J’s, Backribbon boots black; Hair – Kin, luv burgundy; Skin – Tuli, S4F cream brown brows ~ rosy lips/smokey blue (holiday group gift); Manicure – RaC, Manicure No. 04; Body Shape – Mela’s, upcoming release; Eyes – IC, older freebie gift; Sweater – Armidi, Au Fraize Boucle Sweater black; Skirt – ❤ Cupcakes, from the Black Gathered dress set;Hosiery – Paper Couture, from the free gift box in Barcola

December 24, 2007 - Posted by | Fashion | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

