Grid Expectations

I've moved! Go to GridExpectations.com

Internet Connectivity Issues

I apologize to the customers who have sent me notecard requests regarding custom shapes; I am not ignoring you! 😦 It’s just that I’m just unable to log into SL and remain in-world for any reasonable length of time.

The Hawaiian Islands have been getting a spanking over the past few days with high winds and storm weather, which means yours truly has been dealing with internet withdrawal pangs. *tear* My DSL has been out of commission for almost a whole day.

How am I able to post this at all? Well, let’s just say I’m grateful for neighbors who have cable internet service and an unsecured wireless network. :p I’ve tried hopping on SL a few times while, erm, borrowing service, but it’s a royal pain in the ass. I think their bandwidth is throttled because merely opening a webpage while SL is open, or accepting a texture file from someone in-world, will result in my being logged. (Go figure; they seem to know enough to have their bandwidth capped and yet I can change their router’s password if I wanted to. o.o )

I have absolutely no clue when my service will be restored. I called my ISP and the wait time before actually hearing a non-automated human on the other end is at least fifteen minutes due to their high call volume. Plus it’s still raining cats and dogs here so I’m not optimistic. Tons of rain in what is already one of the rainiest spots in the U.S.A. –> ground that is overly saturated; wet mushy ground + high winds = trees toppling over and bringing down various utility lines.

I’ll try to log back on tonight. In the meantime, this cold weather (well, cold for us Hawaiians anyways :p ) calls for some hot cocoa, a blanket, and some quality time on the couch in front of the TV set and DVD player. 😀

weather.com blog’s explanation of what Kona winds and storms are

December 7, 2007 - Posted by | RL | ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

