Grid Expectations

I've moved! Go to GridExpectations.com

Common Courtesy

[15:30] Random Avatar: Hello Shopping Avatar, welcome to Corporation XYZ 🙂

Imagine there is an avi named Shopping Avatar, and she has just TP’d in to a store called Corporation XYZ to do some shopping. She is greeted with the benign statement above upon entry.

Let’s take a look at that greeting again, shall we?

[15:30] Random Avatar: Hello Shopping Avatar, welcome to Corporation XYZ 🙂

What can we glean from this statement? Let’s analyze:

  1. Public chat log clearly shows the name of every typist.
  2. We can see from public chat that there is a person operating an avi by the name of Random Avatar.
  3. Random just greeted a customer on behalf of the store.
  4. Therefore, Random must be an employee of the store.
  5. Random added a smilie at the end in place of an actual smile, to convey friendliness.
  6. Logic dictates that this store employee extending a friendly greeting is doing so to convey helpfulness, should the customer require any.

I extended this very greeting just this afternoon to countless people. Most people will sacrifice the roughly five seconds it takes to type back a brief acknowledgment, such as “Hi” or “Hello”. Some will even indulge in a few extra keystrokes and tack on a smilie of their own: “Hello :)”. Others choose to ignore the greeting; perhaps they did not see the greeting in their viewer.

One person, however, chose to respond with this:

[15:30] Shopping Avatar Stupid Cow: Hello person.

Again, let’s analyze:

  1. Public chat log shows that Stupid Cow, f.k.a. Shopping Avatar, has indeed recognized the fact that she was being greeted.
  2. Stupid Cow has the luxury of taking a few seconds to type a response.
  3. Stupid Cow has replaced Random’s name with “person”.
  4. Stupid Cow is looking at the public chat log, which clearly shows the name of the person who greeted her; therefore, her use of the word “person” in place of a more courteous pronoun is obviously deliberate.
  5. Stupid Cow is being condescending, and quite possibly finds enjoyment in this.
  6. Stupid Cow really is a stupid cow.

Okay, so perhaps item six on that latest list is more of an opinion than anything else, but really, how hard is it to simply be nice? It’s not like my fragile heart was crushed by this glaring display of rudeness, but I was a bit annoyed. It’s one thing to completely ignore someone; it’s quite another to willfully go out of your way to be a twat.

I know, I know — this is Second Life, develop a thick virtual skin (as it says somewhere on the SL website, don’t ask me where). The thing is, SL is a community like any other, it just happens to exist in a virtual setting as opposed to meatspace… and like all other communities, behaving like a civil adult when the situation calls for it, and displaying just a little bit of courtesy, really goes a long way towards helping everything run just that much more smoothly.

(And goodness knows, SL needs all the help it can get in running right. o.O)

Another thing to consider (and this one really seems like plain ol’ common sense): behaving like a decent human being is also especially important if you plan on taking on a business venture. The person that we refer to in this post as Stupid Cow (I won’t give her real name but here’s a hint — it rhymes with “Sibbon Tye”) states in her profile that she’s a builder accepting commissions.

With that winning personality of hers, I’m sure she’ll get tons of work.

Hello Reader, welcome to my blog 🙂

ADDENDUM…

Retrospect is a great thing.  ^_^  I realize now I should have added the part where she actually took the time to explain to someone why she had chosen to address me as “person”.  Here’s a copy/paste from the comments section of this post:

I probably should have added to the post that another customer who was present overheard her, and actually called her on her bad manners.

She had the nerve to justify her actions by implying that *I* was the rude person in this scenario for having dared address her without introducing myself first. o_O I guess her powers of observation are in dire need of a tune-up if she is incapable of connecting the obvious dots that clearly indicated what my name is (hello, it’s right there in chat) and the capacity in which I’d been greeting people.

Then she went on to say that I was a person, someone she didn’t know, hence her use of “Hello person”… and that if she’d wished to be rude, she would have called me something else.

/me rolls eyes

If I were to apply her logic, then next time I see her I will have to say, “Hello idiot”. :p

/fin

November 25, 2007 - Posted by | Rant, Second Life | , , ,

11 Comments »

  1. I can totally sympathize with you, some people in SL are just inconsiderate. Or perhaps she’s looking down her nose at you. It’s alright, you’re probably not the only person who has to deal with her, and think of all the other people that actually said some friendly response, that’s nice. Now you got me curious as to who this snotty person was.

    Comment by emme mannonen | November 25, 2007

  2. hahaha I think I know who it is… and if I did guess right, I think that’s typical behavior for her…

    anyways, sorry to hear about your experience 😦

    Comment by amy | November 25, 2007

  3. You know, I contemplated a post similar to this one today in response to a stupid comment on my blog.

    Is it really that difficult for people to just be nice? What is it that makes people go out of their way to mean or rude or insulting?

    It’s sad, I tell ya.

    Comment by kristianne matfield | November 25, 2007

  4. I probably should have added to the post that another customer who was present overheard her, and actually called her on her bad manners.

    She had the nerve to justify her actions by implying that *I* was the rude person in this scenario for having dared address her without introducing myself first. o_O I guess her powers of observation are in dire need of a tune-up if she is incapable of connecting the obvious dots that clearly indicated what my name is (hello, it’s right there in chat) and the capacity in which I’d been greeting people.

    Then she went on to say that I was a person, someone she didn’t know, hence her use of “Hello person”… and that if she’d wished to be rude, she would have called me something else.

    /me rolls eyes

    If I were to apply her logic, then next time I see her I will have to say, “Hello idiot”. :p

    Comment by melaniekiddofsl | November 25, 2007

  5. How dare you address a slelebrity without a formal introduction and three letters of reference, you common little shop-person, you!!!! LOL At least she did reply, if she’d just said “hello” you would probably not have had such a fun blog entry!

    Comment by Lillie Guildenstern | November 25, 2007

  6. Lol Lillie, that is exactly what I told one of my friends last night! When I told him about it he was like, aww I’m sorry she was so rude… to which I replied, at least I got to write about it. ^_^

    Comment by melaniekiddofsl | November 25, 2007

  7. Ugh!
    I just got a taste of that:
    [11:07] You: hi mean woman 🙂 welcome to corporation xyz!
    [11:08] mean woman: I’ve been here for an hour
    [11:08] You: oh lol
    [11:08] mean woman: rude
    [11:08] You: well i havent
    [11:08] mean woman: muted

    How am I supposed to react to that? I thought she was just kind of being jovial, kidding, etc.

    Comment by Marissa | November 25, 2007

  8. Wow, that’s so rude! Sheesh…

    Comment by melaniekiddofsl | November 25, 2007

  9. I had a couple of thoughts when I read this. Although it was very strange that she said, ‘hello person’ instead of your name she may not have been trying to be rude.

    Sometimes is real life, when I am greeted at the door of a store I say ‘hi’ or smile, but I bustle on fast. I don’t like to be ‘sold’. I’ve worked in retail so I know they have to do it, but if salespeople are too pushy I will leave. It ruins the shopping experience for me when I feel stalked.

    Also, a lot of places have bots that greet you when you walk in the door. I’m so used to ignoring them that it would be entirely possible for me to ignore a person without even meening too. I wouldn’t take it too personally, everyone is in their own world, first or second, and some people just want to be left that way.

    Comment by Sherpa Davies | November 25, 2007

  10. I totally hear what you’re saying, Sherpa. I don’t know if you perused the comments, but in hindsight I probably should have added in the part where she actually took the time to explain *why* she deliberately referred to me as “person”; her reasoning was just sheer haughtiness personified and very rude, if you ask me.

    I’ll tack on that part to the post now. ^_^

    Comment by melaniekiddofsl | November 26, 2007

  11. You are so much like me, or i’m like you, well anyway, if we knew each other we’d make a good team, hehe, keep up the good work

    Comment by facts health | November 27, 2007


Leave a Reply

