Grid Expectations

I've moved! Go to GridExpectations.com

Featured in Torley’s photography guide and Brutal Honesty ^^

I found out from Lex a few days ago that my object matte photo “me and ary” got a little mention in Torley Linden’s “Torley’s guide to high quality photography!” 😀

Here’s the pic:

me and ary in object matte

Yeah, it looks funny… but that is how the image was captured in SL, no post-editing work was done on it. To get this look, you must use the Snapshot function (the snapshot button at the bottom of the client or Ctrl + Shift + S) so that you can view the snapshot dialogue, so soz but “snapshot to disk” won’t work. (Yeah, no sneaking in any silent pics, lol.) You must also select the “Save snapshot to hard drive” option in order to activate the dropdown menu in the Capture field (which is located at the middle of the snapshot dialogue). The dropdown will show “Depth” and “Object Mattes”.

Here’s an example of a shot taken using the depth option:

Snapshot_026

Another mention I got was on the Brutal Honesty blog. 😀 One of the contributors to that blog, Tina Travanti, recently checked out my store Mela’s. In spite of some trouble with a poster I’d priced incorrectly, she had some very nice things to say about my store, for which I’m *really* grateful:

I love my new shape and even with the mix-up I was transformed in just a few minutes and very happy with my purchase. Mela the Slider Surgeon has a great product and has put a lot of time and thought into what she’s doing. You have to check out her store. I fully enjoyed myself and I will be sending people there for some slider work.

I do try to put a bit of thought into my store and what I make, so it’s super nice when someone says something positive about it. Thank you so much for the encouraging words, Tina!

November 12, 2007 - Posted by | Fashion, Photography | , , , , , , ,

8 Comments »

  1. […] You can read the rest of this blog post by going to the original source, here […]

    Pingback by » Featured in Torley’s photography guide and Brutal Honesty ^^ | November 12, 2007

  2. !
    That’s really really neat. I like depth one. I can’t wait to get home to use it.

    Comment by Noam | November 12, 2007

  3. Congrats on being appreciated by two alts with an axe to grind!

    Comment by anonymous | November 12, 2007

  4. From where I’m standing, whether they are alts or not is immaterial :p I am just happy that she was pleased enough with her experience/purchase to blog about it! ^_^

    Comment by melaniekiddofsl | November 12, 2007

  5. Oh wow! that second pic just reminded me of Photoshop’s “lens blur” filter. If you have a depth map, which is what the black and white picture is, you can make a really cool depth-of-field effect! I am so going to use that on all my pics from now on!

    Comment by annyka | November 13, 2007

  6. Melly, these are amazing photos! Congratulations on the mention in Torley’s photo guide! And well deserved – you truly are one of the best photographers in SL!

    Comment by Serenity Mercier | November 13, 2007

  7. Yeah I guess it totally doesn’t really matter that the blog you are promoting is currently allowing a dead person’s name to be dragged through the mud. Congrats again.

    Comment by anonymous | November 14, 2007

  8. Thanks Serenity 😀

    To anonymous, I’ll have to disagree with you on that point.

    The contributors to that blog have reiterated time and again that while they may not necessarily agree with all of the sentiments expressed in their comments and may, in fact, find some of the comments downright repulsive, they will never squelch the open forum nature of their blog. Really, they are in damned-if-they-do, damned-if-they-don’t position as far as that entire subject is concerned, and I respect that they remain true to their word about not suppressing ANYONE’S opinion.

    But, once again, how they deal with other subjects and less than savory comments is not the focus of my post. I’m simply happy that one of my customers was satisfied enough to the point where she felt compelled to blog about my business in a positive light, and I rightfully take pride in that fact when presenting it on my own blog. 🙂

    Comment by melaniekiddofsl | November 15, 2007


Leave a Reply

