Grid Expectations

I've moved! Go to GridExpectations.com

Clothing demos?

K, I ❤ clothes shopping in SL. Seriously, like *really* love it. I dare you to look at my inventory and the overabundance of clothing items stashed within it and not allow the words “consumerist whore” to pop into your head.

Shopping in SL is not without it’s own peculiar pitfalls, however. I’ve ended up with a few items in my inventory that I really can’t make much use of because… well, they don’t cover me up properly. Here are just two examples:

demo plz

I really like this bikini, but I won’t be able to make much use of it for my own avi, although I’m sure I will be able to use it for one of my store posters. (But dammit, I bought this for ME, not for my store!) Just look at the crotch — if I wanted to let people know that my avi’s skin does not, in fact, utilize a Brazilian wax job, then wearing this would do the job.

And here I have my own little Nipplegate:

demo plz

What adds to the suckage is the fact that these items are non-transferrable, so it’s not like I can give them to a friend with less pubic hair or smaller nipples. Sure, I suppose I could wear a different skin in order to wear these… but I’ve already spent thousands of $L on a skin that I happen to like a lot.

Being the helpful person that I am, I like to propose solutions when I make complaints.  😀  Anything that is non-transferrable and has a plunging neckline, any swimwear, any lingerie, any fancy gown that’s $1,000L or more… provide a demo, please!  All the hairstyle stores do it.  Blaze does it, as well as ETD and a fair number of stores that feature wedding boutiques (i.e., Gracie’s).  I’d happily pay $1L for a gown emblazoned with the word “DEMO” because it’d mean I might end up being saved from throwing away $999L on some gown I’ll never use.

Offering a demo might also be the tip on the scales needed to score a sale.  Seriously, while doing some recent power-shopping for a formal gown, a couple of gowns ranging from $1,500L to $2,000L definitely caught my eye… but  I couldn’t be persuaded to spend that much because I wasn’t sure if they’d look right on my avi.  Who knows, maybe I was just a demo away from being convinced to cast my $L vote in that designer’s direction.  🙂

September 18, 2007 - Posted by | Fashion | , , , , ,

6 Comments »

  1. demos shouldn’t really be necessary. WYSIWYG and all that jazz – I can’ imagine a well constructed product “slipping” and showing a nipple due to the way all avatars are built similarly and that clothing stretches to accommodate – it doesn’t slip.

    Comment by smiletenshi | September 19, 2007

  2. Sure, avatars are all built on the same templates… but not all skins are endowed with the same amount of pubic hair, nipples, and other minutiae. “Similar” does not equal “same”, and in my case this seemingly trivial dissimilarity has resulted in hundreds of $L worth of non-transferrable clothing being rendered pretty much useless.

    As a result, there are certain types of clothing I simply will not buy because of the risk involved.

    As for purchasing “well constructed” clothing, it should also be noted that the items showcased in this post are, in fact, from well-known SL designers who are more or less unanimously celebrated for the quality of their work. The swimsuit is from Casa del Shai, and the gown is from Nicky Ree.

    I’m curious, too, how many other RaC skin users have dealt with this issue. I don’t know exact numbers, obviously, but I’m quite certain that RaC skin owners amount to a fairly sizeable crowd.

    Comment by melaniekiddofsl | September 19, 2007

  3. Sorry, Tenshi…what you see is NOT what you get, not when there are issues such as nipple placement and so on on skins, more or less pubic hair, etc (to say nothing of the issues of prim adjustment for prim skirts designed for avatars of a much smaller or larger shape than one’s own…see for instance some of Canimal’s prim skirts, which are built for a tiny av). What you see is what you get, IF you have the same shape and skin as the model in the picture; otherwise, it isn’t necessarily so.

    Comment by Vivienne Graves | September 19, 2007

  4. I’ve been thinking about no transfer as compared to no copy lately as more and more stores are moving to the no transfer model and though I understand why they are making that decision, it bothers me.

    When one buys an item that can be transferred, the item is an asset and still has value. An item that is no transfer actually has NO value and I believe the stores need to take this into account in pricing. I’m getting tired of trashing expensive items and I’m starting to not exactly boycott, but at least avoid stores that only have the no transfer option.

    It’s not only that, I want to be able to pass on clothing that doesn’t work for me so at least someone gets to enjoy the item, and if the person that I give it too actually likes the item, the creator may get a new customer.

    Comment by Jinglebells | September 19, 2007

  5. I know that it’s kind of late to post this now, but it looks like Adam and Eve are now offering demos of all of their clothes. I’m looking forward to being able to try on certain types of clothing to check fit before buying.

    Comment by Lovey Munro | November 19, 2007

  6. […] hate, HATE when I blow something to the tune of L$200 on a bikini/swimsuit, only to find that it does not cover my avi’s nether regions adequately. I’m happy to report that this is not an issue with these bikinis. While they are definitely […]

    Pingback by SJA Customboards « Grid Expectations | November 29, 2007


Leave a Reply

