Grid Expectations

I've moved! Go to GridExpectations.com

Miss SL Tropics 2007

Miss SL Tropics 2007 poster

All right, I have been quite remiss in keeping this blog updated. There’ve been a couple of significant developments/events in my SL experience that I’ve not even mentioned! 😮 So, let’s get cracking:

Several weeks ago, I read an entry at ASpiRE! magazine’s fashion blog announcing a call for entries to a Miss SL Tropics 2007 competition. I have to admit, the whole “tropical” angle of it is what really caught my attention, being that I’m from Hawaii and all. :p

After debating with myself over whether I should submit an entry, I finally decided, hey, why not? It can’t hurt to try, right? So I did my three photos and my notecard:

Headshot 3/4 swimsuit Full body

A few days later, Isabella Sampaio sent me a notice saying I was one of twenty women out of eighty-eight who’d been selected to compete in the pageant! Needless to say, I was pretty stoked, hehe.

Selected!

So much work goes into these types of events! I mean, I realize I am stating the obvious, but still… the people who are responsible for planning these things are taking on a lot. There are training schedules to juggle, various notecards for twenty-three women to keep track of (the twenty entrants plus the three alternatives selected in case an original contestant must depart for whatever reason), stages/props to be constructed, extras to be hired, etc etc etc.

As for my part, I did some power shopping for my outfits for the contest. There are going to be three portions: Swimwear, Classy Casual, and Formal. Doing this kind of serious, I’m-on-a-mission type of shopping really opened my eyes to a few things that are unique to Second Life, which I’ll discuss in a future posting (since I don’t want to go off on a tangent as I am sometimes wont to do ^_^). There truly are a lot of talented designers out there! With so many beautiful items out there to choose from, it was sometimes difficult deciding.

I also participated in a training session at the contest site, and oh man… I must say, the thing I am most nervous about is LAG. Argh, lag! Laggity lag lag lag, lol. I have had some pretty interesting experiences in SL due to lag — I have seen my avi spontaneously go into Edit Appearance even though I do not have the Appearance dialogue box open; my avi has taken underground walks, seemingly moving of her own volition; she’s wandered around for several minutes at a time while stuck in the “landing” position; the list goes on and on and on as any SL citizen can attest. Anyways, I’m worried about lag causing me to walk off the stage, which is set over the ocean. Hrmm, oh well! What can you do, huh? It is what it is, just need to cope :p

The best part of this whole experience so far has been meeting the other people involved in Miss SL Tropics. The ladies who are competing are more than just pretty avatars; they are a friendly, funny crowd of strong women with all sorts of fascinating backgrounds, interests, and stories. That, to me, is one of the biggest draws of SL: meeting people I would’ve otherwise never intercepted in my lifetime and attaining new friends. 🙂

The competition is going to be held in just a few hours from now. I am excited and yet also a bit nervous 😀 Okay, time for me to log in and get myself ready. This is going to be fun!

My Miss SL Tropics photoset on flickr: click here

August 26, 2007 - Posted by | SL Events | , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

