Grid Expectations

I've moved! Go to GridExpectations.com

Finally met Codie, a.k.a. CodeBastard Redgrave

There are quite a number of people from SL who haunt flickr on a very regular basis, and many of them are incredibly talented at elevating SL snapshots to an art form.

I finally got to meet one of these people in-world a few days ago. Her name is CodeBastard Redgrave (is that a cool name or what?!), a.k.a. Codie. We’d been meaning to intercept for a while but because of time differences and obligations, that hadn’t really worked out.

Until now! Codie IM’d me and we were both free, so I asked her to come over to my house in Peraut. We chatted for a bit when Codie informed me that she’d been taking pics of me as we sat. ^_^ Then she asked if I’d be open to doing a photoshoot with her, and I was like, are you kidding?! If you’ve seen the images that she’s posted of her friends, you’d be jumping at the opportunity, too.

One of the shots Codie took in my house.

Codie suggested going with a tropical theme, so we donned some bikinis and headed out to a place called… um, I forget the name lol. (I’ll update this post when I do get that info, I’ve got it landmarked because I REALLY want to go back and explore the area, it’s absolutely gorgeous.)

I had fun during the shoot, and Codie’s sweet and fun to chat with. Sometimes I forgot to use the backslash when typing and I think I messed up a bunch of her pictures with my hands moving, but for the most part I think I was able to control my movements.

I was surprised that no one interrupted us during the shoot; there were several people in the area and I think maybe a couple of them were mildly curious as to what we were up to as we stood around and posed. There was one guy that stood off to the side for a long time, but he never approached us. I know if I’d come across two women in bikinis just standing around posing in a park, I would’ve been nosy enough to ask outright what was going on, hehe.

After Codie had finished grabbing a bunch of high-res images, she set to the task of “killing” pictures. I don’t remember the exact total but I think she said she’d accumulated about 80 pictures; some of them had to go. She whittled the collection down to a set of 51 photos, which you can view here if you’d like.

She asked me to choose two images for her to enhance in Photoshop — one of just me, and one of the two of us. I made my choices, and then she proceeded to explain to me how she goes about enhancing the images with layers, diffusion effects, the liquify tool, etc. I was really happy about that, because I have a bunch of SL images on my hard drive that I want to tackle but I’ve been unsure where to start.

After a bit, she’d finished the post-processing work and uploaded them to flickr. Yay! Here are the two images:

Melanie and Codie

May 8, 2007 - Posted by | Friends, Photography | , , , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. Great pics! 😉

    Comment by Ana | May 14, 2007

  2. AWW! =) Lucky I use Technorati or I would have missed this one! I’m not even finished reading it all, but just wanted to tell you the place is Midnight Reflections! *back to reading with a big smile on her face*

    Comment by CodeBastard Redgrave | May 14, 2007

  3. Awww how very sweet of you =) I had also posted an article about that shoot on my own blog (I also added your blogroll on my list of links).

    Blog article:

    http://codebastardredgrave.com/2007/05/08/new-shoots-melanie-kidd-and-codie-plus-self-shooting-at-red-dawd/

    *muah!* Thanks for the nice words sweetheart ^^

    PS: I didnt miss any shots because of your arms moving 😉

    Love,

    Codie

    Comment by CodeBastard Redgrave | May 14, 2007

  4. […] had the good fortune of meeting Codie (a.k.a. CodeBastard Redgrave) early on in my SL existence.  I could go on about how impressive her […]

    Pingback by CodeBastard Redgrave and the Boudoir Rouge « Grid Expectations | February 7, 2008


Leave a Reply

